Should i be seeing roots by now?

I’m currently on day 19 of my 101-day grow, specifically day 9 out of 14 in the early vegetation stage. A few days ago, I received an email indicating that I should be seeing roots by now, but upon inspection, I don’t see any roots at the bottom; it’s just the moist cocoa pod. It’s definitely receiving water, though. Should I have seen roots by this point, or when can I expect them? If I should have seen roots, does this suggest an issue with the seed? I’d appreciate any guidance from expert Grobo users, as I’m still learning and dont know shit!.

2 Likes

(A picture is worth a thousand words.) Is the seed sprouted? It should be after 19 days. If so the roots are tied up inside the pod. You’ll have to dig em out. :+1:t2:

Send pictures :sunglasses:

1 Like

Honestly my bad I didn’t even notice you could send pictures lol i must be blind lmfao. But here are the pics! Please excuse the shitty ass photo quality this phone has been dropped hundreds of times lol.

1 Like

1 Like

The top? If there’s nothing coming up then it’s a dud. Dig around with a toothpick. My guess is it’s a dud.

1 Like

I realize you said 19 days! It’s dead :skull_and_crossbones:. Should of come up 5-10 days.

1 Like

Hey, so I decided to germinate my seeds outside of the machine I put them between a paper towel, kept the paper towel wet. It was in a bowl, and I would make sure there was a little puddle of water in one corner, so it would keep the paper towel moist. However, it’s Been 10 days and they didn’t sprout. However, I put them in a cup of distilled water and they sunk to the bottom which, if I’m correct means they’re still good. Should I leave them soaking for 24 hours like some people recommend and then put them back in between a paper towel?

1 Like

Between two plates with a paper towel in the dark. This one sprouted in 36 hrs no soaking.
You have bad seeds?
@ChicagoCypher_CC has excellent tips for germination as well.

2 Likes